In Home Reviews Posted to Amazon LintAlert ALRT31 Customer Reviews LintAlert Performance in Real Life
Home Safety

Reviews Entered on Amazon

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Bob, March 16, 2013
This review is from: LintAlert ALRT31 Dryer Safety Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
Sole to install. Made in USA, which is different, and a good feeling of quality. I feel safer with the lint alert

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
  prevent dryer fires, February 5, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LintAlert ALRT31 Dryer Safety Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
If you don't own one of these dryer alerts your missing out on a very crucial piece of protection.
Not only does it tell you when to clean the dryer and line, but will prevent fires, and increase dryer performance

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Fire safety, October 26, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LintAlert ALRT31 Dryer Safety Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
This device is essential to every home. It is easy to install. Evey year there are thousands of home fires caused by lint build up in clothes dryers. This device can prrevent most of these fires.I strongly reommend one for every home with a clothes dryer.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Saved our bacon, June 22, 2012
By 
W. Craycroft (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
  
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LintAlert ALRT31 Dryer Safety Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
I bought the LintAlert detector thinking that one day it might give a warning if the dryer vent ever got clogged. As instructed, I cleaned the vent before installation, running a 6 foot vent brush as far as it would go. But after installing the detector, it would not calibrate, claiming that the back pressure was too high to be normal. So I traced the vent up into the attic and, voila! right at the exit to the roof there was a big blob of lint partially blocking the pipe! I cleaned it out, and once the vent was REALLY clear, the detector calibrated successfully and is now monitoring normally. Not only do I know it works, but it gave me the early warning that a clog was forming well before it became dangerous. I highly recommend this detector. One caveat: check your dryer model and be sure that it has a single motor driving both the barrel and the fan. If the dryer schematic has a single motor, you're good to go. The dual motor dryers have too much variability in exhaust pressure and won't work with this detector. Highly recommended!

  Dryer Vent Lint Alert Kit, May 12, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like the dryer vent lint alert kit that I purchased. It was easy to install and is working fine. I feel much more comfortable being able to know at a glance that my dryer vent system is not obstructed. I would recommend the device.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Another Safeguard for your home, April 1, 2012
By 
Technology Mad 32 (Santa Clara, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LintAlert ALRT31 Dryer Safety Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
This is fairly easy to install and takes about 1/2 hour to do so. Just make sure the ventilation pipe/duct that goes between your drier and the wall inlet is of the rigid type. You can get this at Home Depot or any other reputable hardware store. It makes it easier to install the sensor into a rigid metal duct than the original cheaper flexible aluminum foil type duct that normally comes with the drier. Secondly, it is a lot safer because lint can collect in the ridges formed by the wires used in the flexible ducts.
If you are going to install this, don't skimp - go the whole way and install the rigid ducts.
Also, make sure you clean the vents out as instructed before installing the device - you can also buy this brush kit at HD for about $20. We were surprised how much lint was already in the vent in the wall of the house after a few years and we diligently clean the drier filter after every load.
The device appears to be working and we are happy with the extra peace of mind.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
  LintAlert, September 7, 2011
By 
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LintAlert ALRT31 Dryer Safety Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
The lint alert installation took longer than expected because they recommend using semi-riggid aluminum duct instead of the spiral vinyl duct that had been on the dryer for the last 30 years. This involved three trips to the home store for duct and connectors and clamps. Once the duct work was installed, the setup and calibration was straight forward. The LintAlert works as it claims. We have a long vent run through the garage, and it has clogged several times over the years, so I was glad to see a product that will alert me to the need to clean the duct.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
  EASY IN, WARM & FUZZY FEELING OF SAFETY, March 10, 2011
By 
E. Epstein (Ft Lauderdale) - See all my reviews   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LintAlert ALRT31 Dryer Safety Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
I saw this device at a home show and was impressed by the demonstration. I found it on Amazon at a fraction of the "installed" cost by a professional and half the price quoted at the show for just the device.

Installation including cleaning out the ductwork took less than 15 minutes. Poke a hole with an awl, attach the sensor, plug in the airline and plug the device in the receptacle and it just works!

It's a nice blue nightlight when not in operation. When the dryer is operating, the first green light tells you the duct is clear and clean. As lint builds up in the duct it tells you through a series of lights (greens, then orange, then red) that it's time for a cleanout.

Dryer vent fires are all too common...and this ex-firefighter feels much better now that undetected duct clogs will not happen in this household. Highly recommended...even a novice can install it. You'll feel safer I promise.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
  LintAlert - Fantastic, December 17, 2010
By 
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LintAlert ALRT31 Dryer Safety Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
I'm the type of person that likes to be proactive when it comes to safety around the house. When I heard about the Lint Alert I knew that it was one of those products that I had to have. I must say the LintAlert was great and was well worth the money spent. In reading the directions to set the unit, I was directed to clean out the lint tube leading to the outside. Boy am I glad I followed those instructions; surprise, surprise, when I opened up the outside cover of the lint trap, I found about 1 inch of lint lining the entire tube. After cleaning out the tube, I set up the LintAlert as directed and it worked great. This is one of those products that insurance companies should mandate that homeowners purchase. This one little safety tool can save many lives if used.

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
  Lint Alert installation, October 15, 2010
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LintAlert ALRT31 Dryer Safety Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
The concept of the Lint Alert is intelligent and simple. As lint builds up in the exhaust of a dryer, it becomes more difficult for the dryer blower to get rid of the hot, moisture laden air. As this build-up occurs, two things can happen: 1.it takes longer and longer to dry a load of clothes and 2. it's possible for exhaust temperatures to climb to dangerous levels. Fires can occur with a clogged dryer exhaust.

Comes the Lint Alert. As the clogging increases, air pressure at the dryer outlet builds as the blower tries to force the air out. Very simply, the Lint Alert monitors this so called "back pressure" and gives a visual alert as gradual clogging occurs, and sounds a buzzer if the pressure build to dangerous levels

I installed one and it was quite easy. The instructions tell it all. But how well does it work? Not wanting to wait months on end for the clogging to occur, I tried another test. As my wife watched the Lint Alert visual readout, I went outside and manually forced the flapper shutter closed. As I gradually closed this flapper, the visual alert LEDs on the Lint Alert climbed just as they should. When the shutter was nearly closed, representing a potentially dangerous condition, the aural alert sounded. While I had no way to measure exactly the back pressure, it seemed to perform just as advertised.

This is a relatively inexpensive, but well thought out product that can save you from a potentially dangerous fire at some time in the future. Check with me somewhere down the road, but for now, I'm very glad to have installed the unit.

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
  Great - But, July 22, 2010
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LintAlert ALRT31 Dryer Safety Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
This is a great unit and easy to install BUT it did not work on my Kenmore Elite Oasis due to its technology incorporating dual motor setup. Their support staff was GREAT and handled the return immediately. We purchased two of them and gave the other to a friend and they are really really happy with it. If they invent one for our type of machine I will definitely purchase it - really great idea. Cannot recommend the unit or thecompany enough. Everyone should have one. Marsha C

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
  saftey first, May 23, 2010
By 
rickpisciotto (chicago, il usa) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LintAlert ALRT31 Dryer Safety Alarm (Tools & Home Improvement)
this is very good idea a must for every house give you piece of mind its saves lifes
How it Works Why You Need One Photo Gallery
Dryer Safety Tips Dryer Fire Articles Dryer Maintenance Helpful Links
Current Articles Press Releases Media Kit Corporate Blog
Specs FAQ Home Technical Video Operational Flowchart Register
Get Yours Today Interactive Locator Installers by State Testimonials Contractors Only
About Us The Company The Idea The Latest (Blog)